Race Data
Race Info
Race Videos
stage date start/finish distance
One Day Race 18-Mar Milan - Sanremo 291km
race info

Start: Milan, Via Della Chiesa Rossa
Time: 1010 CET
Distance: 291km
Type: Hills


Finish: Sanremo, Via Roma
Time: 1650-1730 CET


Milan-San Remo, also known as ‘La Primavera’, is a sprinters’ Classic and the longest race in professional cycling. It is one of the oldest and most prestigious races in the sport and has been won in the past by the likes of Fausto Coppi, Gino Bartali, Eddy Merckx, Roger De Vlaeminck, Mark Cavendish and Fabian Cancellara.

The route varies slightly from year to year, but it always nudges 300km and dwarfs the next longest races, which by comparison hover between 250km and 260km.

The distance drains the riders and means that even if there is a bunch finish, sprinters can be robbed of their top speed by fatigue and all-rounders consequently stand an outside chance of victory.


Past 10 winners

2016: Arnaud Démarre (Fra).

2015: John Degenkolb (Ger).

2014: Alexander Kristoff (Nor).

2013: Gerald Ciolek (Ger).

2012: Simon Gerrans (Aus).

2011: Matthew Goss (Aus).

2010: Oscar Freire (Esp).

2009: Mark Cavendish (GB).

2008: Fabian Cancellara (Sui).

2007: Oscar Freire (Esp).