Milan San Remo 2019 in numbers


The 110th edition of Milan San Remo saw Julian Alaphilippe continue his superb recent form as he took the victory for Deceuninck - Quick Step with a brilliant sprint, holding off a strong challenge from a hugely talented group of rivals.

In the first Monument of the year Alaphilippe launched an attack on the Poggio as he flexed his muscles, but he did not go clear and had to time a final sprint perfectly to cross the line just ahead of Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky).

Peter Sagan (BORA - hansgrohe and Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) were fourth and fifth, whilst a list of illustrious names completed the top ten: Wout van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma), Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team), Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Simon Clarke (EF Education First Pro Cycling Team) and Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-SCOTT)

Look back over our race infographics.

JA wins.jpeg