Tour de France 2019: Wout Van Aert wins stage 10

Cyclo-cross star Wout Van Aert continued his impressive first full season on the road by sprinting to victory on an action-packed and potentially pivotal 10th stage of the Tour de France.

The Team Jumbo-Visma rider beat Elia Viviani (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) into second place and Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal) into third after the peloton was split by crosswinds in the closing kilometres.

Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo), Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First Pro Cycling) and Jakob Fuglsang (Astana Pro Team) were all caught out by the split and finished 1min 40sec down on the likes of Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal (both Team INEOS).

Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) made it into the front group and retains the overall lead. Thomas is 1min 12sec back in second while Bernal is four seconds further adrift in third.